De Montfort University (DMU) is one of the most distinguished and dynamic of the new British Universities. In terms of student numbers and geographical area, DMU is one of Britain’s largest universities. Its oldest and main site is in Leicester but today it has four centres: Leicester, Bedford, Lincoln and Milton Keynes. Courses are taught in seven faculties: Applied science, Art & Design, Business & Law, Computing Science & Engineering, Sport & Education, Health and Community Studies and Humanities and Social Sciences.

DMU is nationally and internationally recognised as a centre of excellence for a number of disciplines, including Business.


DMU’s centres offer a comprehensive range of facilities for students. There is a network of libraries offering 1,000 reading places and over 300,000 books and journals. Students are encouraged to use the range of computing facilities including word processing packages, and can access e-mail and the Internet. The Student Union supports over 100 sports and cultural clubs and societies. The International Student Association organises an annual programme of cultural trips around Britain and to other European countries. Recent destinations have included Edinburgh and Paris. All DMU centres offer access to catering facilities, banks and student shops. A wide variety of cinemas, restaurants, shops and sporting facilities are situated nearby.

Accommodation and Welfare

DMU offers a wide range of accommodation including halls of residence, student houses and approved lodgings. Students paying overseas fees are guaranteed university managed accommodation throughout all years of their course. The Midlands is one of the cheapest areas in the UK to live. A Meet and Greet service is available on arrival at the university and new international students are encouraged to attend a free orientation programme. A full range of support services is also provided including a health service and careers, counselling and specialist welfare services. Religious support is offered for students of all faiths and denominations.


DMU has a network of 10 campuses based at the four centres. Each centre is well located on main rail and motorway routes, ensuring easy access to all parts of the UK. All centres are a short train ride from London and within easy reach of England’s historic sights and national parks.

English Language provision

DMU offers comprehensive English Language support both before and during a student’s course. A wide range of intensive courses are offered including:

  • one month free pre-sessional course for students beginning a DMU degree.
  • two week – ten month intensive English Language course.
  • 5 – 10 month Higher Education Certificate in English Language and Culture.
  • three-year English language component to many degree courses
  • variety of Cambridge University examinations including the First Certificate in English and the Certificate of proficiency in English.
  • Most courses are free to DMU students

An International Foundation

Programme is also available which incorporates English Language teaching and prepares students for university entrance. Students who successfully complete this course are guaranteed entry onto appropriate programmes.

Students review about the university can be found at :